On March 11th, 2011, The Second Annual DVF Awards took place at the United Nations in New York City.

This award ceremony is to honored four women who has shown remarkable work through their communities and charities. This year’s nominees (humanitarians) are: Elizabeth Smart, Tayrn Davis, Kakenya Ntaiya, and Sohini Chakraborty.

According to DVF.com:

The DVF Awards was created in 2010 by Diane von Furstenberg and the Diller-von Furstenberg Family Foundation to recognize and support women who are using their resources, commitment and visibility to transform the lives of other women. These are women who have had the courage to fight, the power to survive and the leadership to inspire.

Honorees receive $50,000 in support of the organization (U.S. 501c3) with whom they are affiliated from the Diller-von Furstenberg Family Foundation to further their work.

Each year, four awards are given to women who have demonstrated leadership, strength and courage in their commitment to women’s causes.

Two awards are given to women in the Vital Voices Global Network who are advancing the social, economic, and political position of women in their countries.

To learn more about this wonderful event and the nominess, visit http://inside.dvf.com/awards/.

– Christine Shepherd