Youth America Grand Prix 2014 Gala Announcement Party Cocktails and Conversation

Youth America Grand Prix’s (YAGP) 2014 Gala Chairs Stephanie Foster, Heather Georges, and Kamie Lightburn held a cocktail reception and conversation on November 4, 2013 to announce their plans for the Youth America Grand Prix 2014 Gala. The reception was held at a private residence on Park Avenue.

All three returning chairs of the 2013 YAGP Gala, introduced an additional chair to this year’s Gala, Christina Lyon, who lives in California. Christina has a wonderful understanding of dance and she is a former ABT dancer.

The guests of honor were current ABT dancers Misty Copeland and Marcelo Gomes.  Who spoke to the guests about how they came to dance, their biggest challenges, and their experiences with YAGP.

The Fifteenth Anniversary YAGP Gala will be held on April 10, 2014 at Lincoln Center. It will be a very special evening featuring amazing performances by world class dancers, including the premier of a piece choreographed by Gemma Bond with an original score by Karen LeFrak and costumes by Ralph Rucci. In addition, Dancing with the Stars superstar and Emmy award-winning choreographer, Derek Hough has choreographed a ballroom piece for Misty Copeland. As always, the top students from the YAGP season will perform onstage alongside these dance superstars.

Youth America Grand Prix 2014 Gala Announcement Party Cocktails and Conversation

Over 90 guests attend, they included: Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan Adelson, Mr. and Mrs. Christopher D. Allen, Ms. Peter E. Bacanovic, Ms. Paige Betz, Matthew Bledsoe, Mrs. Barbara Brandt, Mr. Troy and Perry Brown, Ms. Alyson Cafiero, Mr. and Mrs. Bryan Carey, Ms. Misty Copeland, Mr. and Mrs. Steven Curley, Mr. John Dalsheim, Mr. Franco De Vita, Mr. David Dean, Ms. Linda Fell, Ms. Stephanie Foster, Ms. Sarah Frank, Mr. Tom Gates, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Georges, Mr. and Mrs. Justin Gibbons, Mr. Mark Gilbertson, Marcelo Gomes, Marjorie Reed Gordon, Dr. Penny Grant, Sheila and Jodi Grant, Ms. Diane Hipkins, Ms. Amy Hoadley, Ms. Judith M. Hoffman, Mr. and Mrs. Christopher Hojlo, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Kempner, Ms. Karen Klopp, Ms. Ali Schley Landegger, Serena Lese, Mr. and Mrs. Laurent Levasseur, Ms. Joey Lico, Ms. Kamie Lightburn, Ms. Stephanie Loeffler, Mr. and Mrs. Ludwick, Mr. Jack Lynch, Ms. Paige Boller Malik, Ms. Kelly Mallon, Mr. and Mrs. Alberto Mariaca, Mr. William Georgis and Mr. Richard Marshall, Ms. Linda K. Morse, Ms. Kathleen Murtha, Mr. Ian Ng, Mr. Richard Osterweil, Ms. Elizabeth Papadopoulus, Mr. and Mrs. Brad Peck, Mr. Eoin Robinson, Mr. Cavin Royal III (ABT), Mr. and Mrs. Eric Rudin, Ms. Katie Ryser, Nancy Sambuco, Yolanda Santos, Mr. Larisa Saveliev, Mr. Scott Schlexer, Mr. and Mrs. Martin Shafiroff, Mr. John L. Sills, Esq., Kari and Carl Tiedemann, and Ms. Evelyn Tompkins.

YAGP is the world’s largest student ballet scholarship competition, awarding over $250,000 annually to leading dance schools worldwide. Since being founded in 1999 by two former Bolshoi Ballet dancers, Larissa and Gennadi Saveliev, YAGP has awarded over $2 million in scholarships to the leading dance schools worldwide. The competition is conducted annually throughout the U.S. and abroad (Brazil, Mexico, Japan, and Italy). YAGP is the internet of the dance world, a global network of opportunity connecting dancers, teachers, schools and companies all over the globe. Over 25,000 dancers worldwide have participated in YAGP’s international workshops, competitions, and audition classes. Over 300 YAGP alumni are now dancing with 50 companies around the world, including American Ballet Theatre, New York City Ballet, Paris Opera Ballet and San Francisco Ballet, among others.

Thanks to Catherine!

– Christine Shepherd

Images from Patrick McMullan Company