Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP) Annual Benefit

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
5:45-9:00 p.m.

Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers

For more information and tickets, visit:

José Andrés, internationally recognized culinary innovator, author, educator, television personality, humanitarian, and chef/owner of ThinkFoodGroup & minibar by José Andrés will be honored at C-CAP’s annual culinary event on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 from 5:45-9:00 p.m. at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers.  Andrés will receive the C-CAP Honors Award, an award granted to individuals within the culinary industry for exceptional leadership and achievements.

The event will feature fabulous culinary tastings prepared by over 30 of the city’s finest chefs, including Chef Chair and C-CAP Board Co-Chair Marcus Samuelsson and Michelin Star Chefs José Andrés, Abram Bissel, Daniel Boulud, Markus Glocker, Alfred Portale, Thomas Keller, and Michael White, as well as C-CAP alumni Cesar Gutierrez from Café Boulud, Yvan Lemoine from Union Fare.   Assisting the chefs will be more than 60 New York City C-CAP high school students and alumni, eager to put their mark on the culinary world.  The festivities will include an auction with once-in-a-lifetime culinary, culture, and travel packages.  Funds raised will support C-CAP, a national non-profit that provides underserved high school students with education and career opportunities through the culinary arts.

Past recipients of the C-CAP Honors Award include: Michael Anthony, Daniel Humm, Richard Parsons & Alexander Smalls, Michael White, Tony May, Michael McCarty, Michael Lomonaco, Marcus Samuelsson, Drew Nieporent, Alfred Portale, Lidia Bastianich, Thomas Keller, Charlie Palmer, Danny Meyer & Michael Romano, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Egidiana & Sirio Maccioni, Nina & Tim Zagat, and Saul Zabar & Stanley Zabar.

The C-CAP Benefit is open to the public. VIP Admission Tickets are $1,000 and include a signed cookbook from a celebrity chef. General admission tickets are $600 (limited availability).

Participating Chefs and Restaurants Include:

  • Philip DeMaiolo, Abigail Kirsch
  • Jason Weiner and Alex Nieto, Almond
  • Cyril Renaud, Asiate
  • Markus Glocker, Bâtard
  • Daniel Boulud, Aaron Bludorn, Cesar Gutierrez*, Café Boulud
  • Carla Hall, Carla Hall
  • Melissa Rodriguez, Del Posto
  • Fortunato Nicotra, Felidia
  • Scott Conant, Fusco
  • Alfred Portale, Gotham Bar and Grill
  • Miro Uskokovic, Gramercy Tavern
  • Manish Mehrotra, Indian Accent
  • Maria Loi, Loi Estiatorio
  • Kim Up Lim, Michael’s
  • Abram Bissell, The Modern
  • Matt Hoyle, Nobu 57
  • Bill Telepan, Oceana
  • Zene Flinn, Park Avenue Winter
  • Ashfer Biju, Perrine
  • Thomas Keller, Per Se
  • Philippe Bertineau, The Polo Bar
  • Michael Lomonaco and Wayne Harley Brachman, Porter House
  • Delfin Jaranilla, Quality Eats
  • Sarabeth Levine, Sarabeth’s
  • Marcus Samuelsson, Streetbird Rotisserie
  • Sherry Yard and Greg Power, The Tuck Room
  • José Andrés, ThinkFoodGroup
  • Thomas Chen, Tuome
  • Yvan Lemoine*, Union Fare
  • Chris Santos, Vandal
  • Michael White, Vaucluse
  • *C-CAP Alum


Co-chaired by chef, author, and restaurateur Marcus Samuelsson, Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP) is a national non-profit that educates and guides underserved high school students toward a bright future. Through its holistic approach to culinary training and career exploration, C-CAP prepares students for the workplace through chef mentoring, field trips, job shadows, work experience and job skills, and college and career advising. Founded in 1990 by culinary educator and cookbook author Richard Grausman, C-CAP impacts over 17,500 students a year and has also awarded over $53 million in scholarships since its inception. Countless C-CAP alumni work throughout the country and are guiding the future leaders of the culinary and hospitality industry.

Visit; follow C-CAP on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook @CCAPINC